Current perceptions of the market

kirispupis

• Benefactor

Thought I'd start (yet another) thread concerning your perceptions of the market. Although I'm still very new to this hobby, this year has seemed quite odd.

First, a number of the standard sellers I rely on have dried up. They were the source of the majority of my purchases last year and one in particular I ordered from nearly weekly. All three of them have posted very few coins this year, and whatever they've listed has been uninterested.

Second, there's been a severe drop in interesting coins overall. Last year there were typically 3-5 auctions at any one time with items I wanted, while lately it's been 0-1. At Leu, for example, I would typically put 10-25 coins on my watch list, then whittle them down to 4-10 over the auction until I bid on them in the live portion. This year I only had 2 on the initial list. Last year I purchased heavily from Roma at the beginning of the year and CNG at the end. I haven't participated in Roma at all this year and only one CNG auction outside of Triton, where I had zero wins. Overall, I'm just not seeing so many interesting coins.

Third, on coins where I have bid there's been tremendous competition. Perhaps there's someone more well-heeled who has my exact plan, because I've been destroyed on the coins I most wanted. For example, I had a major target at Leu and I bid over 2x the highest ever offered for the type and lost. Even on "lower" types I've been outbid more than I used to be. I've lost on a number of items where I won last year.

I've still been purchasing coins, but I look out more for rarities - even from cities I already have. Many coins are mis-attributed and sometimes research has revealed a nice nugget, such as those below. I've also branched out a bit in cities and added some interesting types. My per-coin price has plummeted. If I keep it up, my collection may wind up being worth what I paid. 🙂