ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A JOB ?

• Benefactor

@Ocatarinetabellatchitchix, I posted the same ad in the current thread about Leu. This was my comment:

"Speaking of Leu, some of you may be tempted by the position advertised in this email I received today. You don't even have to move to Switzerland! If I had the requisite 'extensive experience as a numismatist in the coin trade,' and had the requisite knowledge of non-Roman coins, I'd certainly be intrigued!"

I do wonder if in referring to extensive experience as a numismatist in the coin trade, they mean only experience from the dealer's side, as opposed to the buyer's side. Because I have plenty of experience in the latter!

18 minutes ago, Deinomenid said:

Ditto, but I couldn't work  out if  they meant expertise  in Roman and Greek and Byzantine etc  or one of.  Fairly sure they meant all. Not sure  how anyone can be expert in a good 2000 years of  coinage across a huge range of  mints.

The obvious solution is that we should all apply for the position collectively, based on our cumulative experience, and then divide the work and split the proceeds! Not many have greater cumulative experience than the collectivity of NumisForums members.

In terms of access to a numismatic library, not only is there the Internet, but some of us do have comprehensive libraries in particular areas in hard copy. Personally, I would say that I have libraries as good as or better than most collectors on Roman Republican coins and Roman Provincial coins from Alexandria.  Plus I joined the ANS recently, and could theoretically use their library. As could many others here, I'm sure.

Edited by DonnaML
  • Like 5
  • Yes 2

I wonder about the requirement 'commitment and resilience in stressful situations', in regards to ancient coins. What could happen? "Quickly, hurry up, we need to correctly ID this coin within the next 60 seconds, or the bomb will explode!" 

• Like 3
  • Laugh 2

15 minutes ago, Limes said: