Starting to Collect Julio-Claudian Dynasty 12 emperors

Amarmur

Hi my name is Alan and I'm pretty new to ancients. I'm on a relatively small budget but around how much would be a good ball park for each of the first 12 emperors money wise to aim for. I started looking on Vcoins for prices and some are reasonable but I'm not sure its worth the price or to sit on it. From what I see Caligula is the scarcest and hardest one to get of these 12.  Would happily take insight on price ranges for those types of coins. Thanks for the help!

• Like 6

Welcome to collecting.  I find the 12 Caesars to be a very satisfying genre.

Well, many of mine were obtained when coins were a lot cheaper.  Even back in the 90's, I remember looking at really nice Galba Sestertii for $400+.

It completely depends on condition and what denomination you're looking for.

Give us some more information, please.

• Like 2

Hello and welcome. You have, of course, chosen one of the more expensive areas of collecting. 

Augustus, Caligula, Nero... but also Tiberius or the Caesars from the year of the Four Emperors are simply the best-known and most sought-after personalities. For a Nero you pay more than for a Gordianus, just because of the name and the degree of popularity. In addition, certain persons and their coins are simply rare. 

For a Caligula bronze - in good condition - which has not (!) been worked on / altered with tools - you can pay prices where others buy a used small car for the money.

The question is - silver coins? Bronze coins? And above all - what was your average budget per coin?

Edited by Prieure de Sion
  • Like 2

1 hour ago, Prieure de Sion said:

Hello and welcome. You have, of course, chosen one of the more expensive areas of collecting.