Would you buy this coin for this price?

JayAg47

Probably the cheapest Aureus I've seen for retail in years. If I were to buy this coin it would definitely be my most expensive coin, 3 times as costly as my Justinian Solidus. Although an Aureus would be a crown jewel in my collection, the condition is what keeps me from pulling the trigger. If I'm going big, I'd rather have a nice coin which would somewhat reduce the regret. Hoping someone would buy this before I loose my sanity and spend three grands and have no coin budget for the coming years. 

Untitled.png.68666a8ac8a9d113e41a5f42d3e4dd12.png

Edited by JayAg47
  • Like 3
  • Cool Think 1

• Benefactor

I noticed this coin when it appeared and remarked how cheap it is for an aureus.

I would not buy it for the following reasons:

• Although I'm no expert in this coinage, from a quick look the weight seems a bit low. Most others I see are around 7.5g vs 6.98g for this one. For this amount of money, that would make me suspicious enough to do a good amount of research to try to uncover some provenance.
  • I'm not familiar with the seller and from a look at their coins they don't seem to specialize in ancients. Do they have the knowledge therefore to guarantee this type of coin?
  • While I'm usually fine with a certain amount of wear, gold coins typically are well-preserved. I did spend this much once on a very worn coin, but it was also exceedingly rare. I would therefore have difficulties spending so much on a very poor copy of a relatively common coin.

IMHO the price is correct on it, but this coin will require the right kind of buyer, and that buyer is not me.

• Like 5
  • Yes 2

4 minutes ago, kirispupis said:

I noticed this coin when it appeared and remarked how cheap it is for an aureus.