Woe unto me! A tooled sestertius!

robinjojo

• Benefactor

I must say that I am by no means an expert in detecting skillful, or even marginally skillful tooling.  I would like to think that I have some experience in this area, but unless a coin comes with a bright flashing sign "Tooling! Beware!" it would very likely slip by.

Here is the thread that I created on CT for this coin, an interesting sestertius of Trajan Decius from the current Harlan Berk buy/bid sale.  Boy did this one blow up in my face!

https://www.cointalk.com/threads/a-possibly-unpublished-sestertius-of-trajan-decius.407308/

I am making arrangements to return the coin to HJB.

• Like 7
  • Cry 2
  • Shock 4

16 minutes ago, robinjojo said:

I must say that I am by no means an expert in detecting skillful, or even marginally skillful tooling.  I would like to think that I have some experience in this area, but unless a coin comes with a bright flashing sign "Tooling! Beware!" it would very likely slip by.

Here is the thread that I created on CT for this coin, an interesting sestertius of Trajan Decius from the current Harlan Berk buy/bid sale.  Boy did this one blow up in my face!

https://www.cointalk.com/threads/a-possibly-unpublished-sestertius-of-trajan-decius.407308/

I am making arrangements to return the coin to HJB.

You have the excuse that HJB didn't notice. (Although they also don't notice 'Replica' written on their coins). And to be fair, it's not cartoonish. Easy to miss when you're not looking for it. A nice example for us non-experts to compare.

Edited by John Conduitt
  • Like 2
  • Cool Think 1

• Benefactor