"Rich in detail portrait" -- because IT HAS BEEN TOOLED AS ALL GET OUT!

Roman Collector

I'm no Faustina expert - but I think the tooling is pretty obvious.  For those who crave such things there are some sellers on ebay fraudulently selling modern imitations as genuine ancient coins.  checkout "coinsbob" - this appears to be original art masquerading fraudulently as ancient.  I find myself wondering why the talented people who engage in this aren't making much more money in legitimate businesses. (caveat emptor)

Here's a genuine and imperfect Antoninus from AD 139....RIC III Antoninus Pius 569A

AntoninusPiusPaxAs.jpg.d9093f3e8046842f339b055589cb8503.jpg

Edited by Sulla80
  • Like 12
  • Gasp 1

I remember I had my doubts when buying this sestertius, although not pristine condition, but still looked a little too good to be true. But after confirming with @Roman Collector, this one wasn't ruined by an idiot. 

image.png.3f7cbc37276fc64aa4580f5cddbd878e.png

But anyway you people are too harsh. The seller said "rich in detail portrait and graceful depictoin of Juno"

He said nothing about "original details" or "original depictoin". 

• Like 9
  • Smile 1

37 minutes ago, ambr0zie said:

I remember I had my doubts when buying this sestertius, although not pristine condition, but still looked a little too good to be true. But after confirming with @Roman Collector, this one wasn't ruined by an idiot. 

image.png.3f7cbc37276fc64aa4580f5cddbd878e.png

But anyway you people are too harsh. The seller said "rich in detail portrait and graceful depictoin of Juno"

He said nothing about "original details" or "original depictoin". 

That's a lovely coin, indeed. 

• Thanks 1

I am happy to report that the dealer has responded to my concerns about it being tooled and has withdrawn the item from sale. This is the e-mail from the firm:

Hello [Roman Collector],

thanks for the feedback! It is much appreciated!
Stuff hit the fan with this coin indeed. My bad.