Do you know the worth of your collection?

JayAg47

I have been keeping an excel report of all the numismatic purchases since 2018. One column for what I’ve paid, and another for what it’s worth at current market price. While it’s pretty straightforward for bullions, it’s hard to gauge the value for ancient or even some modern coins. Despite that, looking back I’ve only overpaid for a couple or so ancients to date. 
I know one should not treat ancient coins as investments, but it’s good to know where I’m standing in my hobby financially. 

Edited by JayAg47
  • Like 11

• Benefactor

While I'd love to think I was an expert in obtaining incredible coins at a percentage of market value, the more realistic scenario is that they're worth about what I paid for them. In some cases I found great deals and in others I overpaid and they probably cancel each other out.

Therefore, it's possible for me to calculate the worth of my collection because I record what I paid for each coin. However, I've intentionally not converted the currencies in order to make this difficult because I don't really want to know...

Edited by kirispupis
  • Like 15

I have no interest in the worth. I collect for historical knowledge and pure enjoyment. If I can afford it and I like it, I buy it. What it might or might not be worth in the future doesn´t enter my head. After all, I am only a caretaker of these historical pieces, what happens to them after I am gone is for someone else to decide.

• Like 10
  • Yes 2

8 minutes ago, expat said:

I have no interest in the worth. I collect for historical knowledge and pure enjoyment. If I can afford it and I like it, I buy it. What it might or might not be worth in the future doesn´t enter my head. After all, I am only a caretaker of these historical pieces, what happens to them after I am gone is for someone else to decide.

Absolutely!

I don't think I've grossly overpaid very many times, however.  Probably well under 5 coins over a thirty year span.