Probus

DimitriosL

A true miracle amongst the mostly unoriginal and deminishing in artistic value coins of the late 3rd century is the coinage of Probus. Unique, bold and of great variety. I recently started learning more about this fascinating chapter of roman numismatic history. What is your favorite/ most unique Probus coins? 

• Like 6
  • Yes 1

I also have many Probus. Picking one is tough. I prefer the Lugdunum mint (>400 coins). Here is one of my better ones.

Obv:– VIRTVS PRO-BI AVG, Radiate, helmeted, cuirassed bust left, holding spear and shield, decorated with emperor riding past row of soldiers with shields
Rev:– ADVENTVS PROBI AVG, Emperor riding left, right hand raised, left holding sceptre; at foot, captive
Minted in Lugdunum (IIII) Emission 5 Officina 4. End A.D. 277 to Early A.D. 278
References:– Cohen 69. Bastien 256 (2 examples cited). RIC 64 Bust Type G (S)
Appears to be an obverse die match to the plate example in Bastien

RI_132ma_img~0.jpg

I have some decent coins from all the mints.

Here is one from Rome.

Obv:– IMP C M AVR PROBVS P F AVG, Radiate, bust left in imperial mantle, holding scepter surmounted by eagle
Rev:– SOLI INVICTO, Sol in quadriga riding left, holding globe and whip
Minted in Rome (R in exe) Emission 2. A.D. 277
Reference(s) – RIC 204 Bust type H
Weight 5.63 gms. Size 23.25 mm

RI_132ja_img~0.jpg

• Like 13
  • Heart Eyes 5

22 minutes ago, maridvnvm said:

I also have many Probus. Picking one is tough. I prefer the Lugdunum mint (>400 coins). Here is one of my better ones.

Obv:– VIRTVS PRO-BI AVG, Radiate, helmeted, cuirassed bust left, holding spear and shield, decorated with emperor riding past row of soldiers with shields
Rev:– ADVENTVS PROBI AVG, Emperor riding left, right hand raised, left holding sceptre; at foot, captive
Minted in Lugdunum (IIII) Emission 5 Officina 4. End A.D. 277 to Early A.D. 278
References:– Cohen 69. Bastien 256 (2 examples cited). RIC 64 Bust Type G (S)