INTERVIEW WITH A MEMBER: Tejas

Ocatarinetabellatchitchix

We can't always be impartial in life, can we? I admit that our member of the week has one of the coin collections that I prefer the most among the collectors of this forum; especially its more than 160 pieces from the Gallic empire ! I have enjoyed reading his articles for years on aspects of numismatics completely unknown to me. So let's talk with our friend Tejas...

Can you tell us a bit about yourself, where you are from, your family, hobbies, work …?

My name is Dirk, and I am originally from northern Germany, but I have spent most of my life overseas, in the United Kingdom, Russia, and the wonderful country of Switzerland. I'm married and have two children. I'm a professional economist who works for a central bank. In fact, I work in a field related to money markets that, sadly, has nothing to do with coin markets.

I've always been interested in history and prehistory. As a child, all I could think about were knights, castles, and dinosaurs. Indeed, I recall an incident in which I collected "dinosaur bones" from the remains of earthworks outside our local church. Not knowing that the area had once been a cemetery, I took the bones home, and to my mother's horror, stored them under my bed for further investigation.

Unsurprisingly, most of my hobbies are history-related, including numismatics, genealogy and heraldry (my avatar shows our family coat of arms). I’m also a great fan of classical music, with Bach being my all-time favorite composer. My family is originally from Eastern Prussia, with some members having lived in Russia – indeed my grandfather was born as subject of the last Tsar - which I mention because it is relevant to my numismatic interests.

How did you get interested in ancient coinage?