A Tale of Two Thalers

Al Kowsky

While browsing through old photo-files I stumbled on photos of two thalers that I don't remember posting before. These thalers were part of a larger group of foreign coins Heritage auctioned for me on January 8, 2017. The first coin was a 1640 CR thaler from Saxony picturing John George I, Elector of Saxony, 1585-1656, Davenport 7612. The coin was in choice mint state, is lustrous, & had beautiful iridescent toning 🤩, it cost me well over $1,000 & sold for $822.50 😖. I'm sure the poor photo from the Heritage E-Auction had something to do with this along with the assigned grade from NGC. I'm no expert in modern grading standards, but this thaler looks a lot better than MS 62 to my eyes 😏. What do fellow website members think 🤔? The first photo is mine & the second photo is from Heritage.

IMG_2838.JPG.a24a44258b83992f9b5c481b77ff99f9.JPG

405847638_NGC3591792-007MS62ExAWKCollection.jpg.065eb2def12b94206ea067f863ea354f.jpg

The next coin is a 1610 thaler issued for Hamburg, Davenport 5360, that I bought as Ex Fine condition for less than $500. When this coin came back from NGC I was shocked to see it was graded MS 65 😲! The coin sold for $3,050.00 😂! Ironically this very same coin was put up for auction exactly one year later when it sold for $2,640.00. Does this coin deserve the grade MS 65 🤔?

1281454463_NGC4215249-001DAV5360EXAWKCollection.jpg.ffe287bcb64bdf957645a52e9222d3b6.jpg

• Like 12
  • Cookie 1

• Benefactor

Beautiful coins, Al!

I take NGC grades with a grain of salt.  That is their opinion, I have mine.