Gordian Antonianus: not in RIC?

Roerbakmix

I'm not an expert for Gordian. Usually three years are much for a mule, but is this dating the last truth. What happened between 239 and 242 with the dies?

I have Roger Bland's thesis in my link list, but don't know if there is anything there.

https://discovery.ucl.ac.uk/id/eprint/10116536/1/Bland_thesis.pdf

Edited by shanxi
  • Like 3

11 hours ago, Roerbakmix said:

I'm helping a friend identifying some recently found antoniani. We were wondering whether this coin is a variety to RIC IV 217:

image.jpeg.54b15888e03180ab34fbd965fcffc840.jpeg

at first glance, it's RIC IV 217:

image.png.4dbd35b164b8d99897f18b64a29c335b.png

however, Victory on this coin is to the left, and not to the right. Is this a variety to RIC 217? 

No - if I remember correct there are mistakes in the RIC with copied text and/or example pictures. Let me explain. 

First. There are two Victory’s (left / right) and two bust types (bust normal / bust from behind). 

There are four RICs.

RIC 217b
RIC 217e

RIC 218b
RIC 218e

The b-Type is the normal bust, the e-type is the bust from behind. 

So I am not at the PC. I don’t remrmber is the RIC text copied false or the pictures. I think I remember the 217 was left and 218 was the right one. 

RIC 217b bust normal, Victory left 
RIC 217e bust behind, Victory left 

RIC 218b bust normal, Victory right
RIC 218e bust behind, Victory right

Take a look to NUMISTA - I think there are the pictures correct, but they copy the false text from RIC. Tomorrow I can make a look…

• Like 2

The op does not seem to be listed in RIC. If I were cataloguing the coin, I would list it as a left-facing variant of 217 unless I had reason to think the coin was the product of a mint other than Antioch. I would go with 217 rather than 218 because legend should take precedence over the attitude of the figure.