Reverses issued for only one Roman

Valentinian

image.jpeg.6b21518e4c68ff521a8c8fd67d0715a2.jpeg
Denarius. 21-19 mm.
There is only one Roman with this reverse type. Can you recognize who it is?
(The answer is here.)  
One of my many collecting themes is reverse types that were issued by only one Roman, so the reverse alone allows the Roman on the obverse to be identified. Long ago I made a website about them:
http://augustuscoins.com/ed/unique/unique.html
It has been almost three years since I added any types to it, but this one, which I have been seeking for a several years (It is "rare" according to RIC), came yesterday and I added it to my pages. 

Show us another coin where the reverse alone allows the Roman on the obverse to be identified. 

• Like 17
  • Thinking 2

I was wrong about that one! Interesting challenge.

Of course, it also raises the very interesting topic of what counts as a "type." Different people will reasonably divide them up differently, for different purposes. (Identical legends + devices? Different abbreviations of the legends? Different device or figure in different poses? Different die-pairs?)

Using types defined in collector literature, there are more for Provincials and Republicans. Fewer Imperial.

I collect "barbarians & captives" on Roman coins. I'm always watching for the handful of reverses that can only be found paired with a specific ruler.

think this ruler's coinage is the only time we see a captive standing alone with no trophy or palm tree or other seated captive or personification (and with hands bound in front), just accompanied by his captured arms. (The closest are some of the scarcer-to-rare IVDAEA types.)

https://www.acsearch.info/search.html?id=7798304

image.jpeg.a7b113ee291d38b751ad858e9eeda3b3.jpeg

• Like 13

1 hour ago, panzerman said:

This one for sure/ since its him on reverse.