Byzantine coin books question...

ewomack

I'm still relatively new to Byzantine coins, having only started collecting them last summer. After accumulating about a dozen so far, I'd like to learn more. That usually means books. So far, I've read the Sear book, the Sayles book (also known as Ancient Coin Collecting V) and the helpful, but somewhat jumbled, The Beginner's Guide To Identifying Byzantine Coins.

Apart from random Internet searches, the recent numismatic library thread here included pictures of other books on this subject, including Byzantine Coins by Whittier (in "The World of Numismatics" series) and, Byzantine Coins by Grierson. Are these books (which usually sell for between $50 - $100 each) a good next step for learning more about this subject?

Does anyone have any other recommendations for getting deeper into Byzantine coins?

• Like 5

• Benefactor
1 hour ago, Nerosmyfavorite68 said:

The Dunbarton Oaks volumes are available, officially and freely, on pdf.  I don't have the url handy.

There's also Early Byzantine Copper Coins, another e-book on pdf.  Perhaps someone else can help with the official urls.  EBCC is good about showing a lot of rare coins. 

Numiswiki is usually a good place to search for the urls of particular numismatic books that are available online.

• Like 4

3 hours ago, ewomack said:

I'm still relatively new to Byzantine coins, having only started collecting them last summer. After accumulating about a dozen so far, I'd like to learn more. That usually means books. So far, I've read the Sear book, the Sayles book (also known as Ancient Coin Collecting V) and the helpful, but somewhat jumbled, The Beginner's Guide To Identifying Byzantine Coins.