Another Justinian Follis...

ewomack

Hello, the search continues. Does this one show any signs of tooling? Is the lighter green on the obverse of any potential concern? I'm still learning how to distinguish tooling, but this one doesn't give me the heebie jeebies like the other one I posted earlier this week.

2rALsH59J6xb9tZ3YDc37Eqok8nC4m.jpg

• Like 8

• Benefactor

I don't see anything of an obvious nature regarding tooling.  The fields, from what I can see, look okay.  

Is this coin yours or are you considering purchasing it?

If you own this coin, check the light green areas. Is the light green powdery?  If it's hard the coin should be okay, but leave it out an observe it over the course of a couple of months.

That's a very nice example, by the way, very appealing.

Edited by robinjojo
  • Like 1

[Moved this over from the previous thread where it started...]

That one looks better to me. Once again, I would suggest going on ACSearch and trying to find an obverse die match (beware this one may have some double striking/die slippage). Just search Justinian Follis CON 14. (Or, if you don't get any good comparisons, instead of 14, try XIIII or 540, but it looks like there are a ton of results just using Justinian Follis CON 14.) I think my example might have the same reverse die as the specimen you showed (hard to tell for sure because both are a bit double struck), but a different obverse die.