Ultrasonic cleaning - yes or no?

ambr0zie

Hello ladies and gentlemen,

I am not an expert in cleaning coins. Actually, on some occasions I ruined some. My only positive results were on some coins with horn silver (using thiosulphate) and some MINOR bronze disease - but I am still inspecting these ones from time to time. 

I know about ultrasonic cleaning but I am not very familiar with how it really works (not technically - I mean real results). I ordered myself a very cheap device (I am ashamed to mention the price) - I had a very small voucher for a local website and I saw the cheapest ultrasonic cleaner, battery powered, so I ordered it. 

I do not expect spectacular results but I wonder if ultrasonic cleaning (not necessarily done with a cheap device) is a good cleaning method. Would it remove earthen deposits? Is it dangerous (note - I do not intend to use it on very thin coins to avoid any damage). I also intend to use it with distilled water only - and perhaps with baking soda, thiosulphate - the substances I used before and I know they are OK. 

I know for sure the device will NOT arrive with instructions. So I would be grateful if somebody who uses a similar device can help with a "walkthrough" - what kind of "dirty" coins are suitable, how long should a coin be left, any precautions. 

• Like 1