Weird Contemporary Imitation Agathokles Tetradrachm from Roma Auction

Cordoba

Update: roma got back to me and withdrew the lot while they research it further

Saw Roma just posted their new sale and they have this odd Agathokles tetradrachm, listed as a contemporary imitation. Seems like there's a forumancientcoins thread about it being fake. Euthydemos and Basileuontos are spelled wrong on the coin lol. This is the previous unsold listing https://www.numisbids.com/n.php?p=lot&sid=4319&lot=1001. I can't say I'm an expert on detecting fakes, but the coin looks off to me. Wondering if others could give their opinions

image.png.98d3b1e1142219748364cbfe48b70a2e.png

https://www.romanumismatics.com/271-lot-464-greco-baktrian-kingdom-agathokles-dikaios-ar-imitation-tetradrachm?arr=0&auction_id=172&box_filter=0&cat_id=&department_id=&exclude_keyword=&export_issue=0&gridtype=listview&high_estimate=7500&image_filter=0&keyword=baktria&list_type=list_view&lots_per_page=100&low_estimate=5&month=&page_no=1&paper_filter=0&search_type=&sort_by=lot_number&view=lot_detail&year=

Edited by Cordoba
  • Like 5
  • Laugh 2

Even though this isn't my collecting area or area of expertise, I would have steered clear of this coin based on the style. I guess these days forgers try to explain away awkward styles as "contemporary imitations". To me, all the devices on the coin seem too evenly worn - I would expect that the high relief of the bust would wear more quickly than the legends. Also, why is the legend to the top right on the obverse sharp while the beaded border just beside it is very worn? It seems impossible to create that effect through honest, natural wear. Everything also just looks a bit too "soft" to me.

• Like 6