Antiquities banned from vcoins?

Nerosmyfavorite68

While searching for Hadrian I clicked on a Zurquieh offering and a banner (his) read that antiquities will be banned from Vcoins.

I don't buy antiquities, save for seals, mainly because I have nowhere proper to store them and they're expensive, but still...  Is this true?

George Carlin would have had a field day with the 'all your coins/antiquities are belong to us' (a riff on the 90's meme) crowd, but that's another matter.

• Like 1
  • Gasp 1
  • Shock 1

I get as a dealer the information that there are not longer Antiquities at VCoins. 

There are two things I'd like to consider from my point of view.

Antiques are sometimes a delicate subject. Coins are a dime a dozen. Almost all coins are likely to come from legal sources. Antiques, however, are often critical. Were they recovered legally? Are they even exhibits of looted art? You can also get into a lot of trouble with antiques. 

As a website operator, I therefore have to trust my dealers. But as an operator, can I simply put my hand in the fire for all of them?

The second thing is - I could imagine - VCoins is as the name suggests a platform for everything around antique and modern coins. If you put too much stuff on the platform - you will quickly become a junk dealer. And you lose the reference and exclusivity as far as coins are concerned.

And then i also have to say that some antique dealers have really taken every old stone in the store. 

And I admit - even me as a dealer has disturbed from time to time! 

I have published five new coins in one day. On the same day a dealer has published 5 whole pages with some small antiques for small money. Where had my 5 coins gone - that I had newly presented to my customers? Sometime between all the antique small stuff I found them - if you search for them extra. Many people interested in coins have surely overlooked them.