THIS IS (a coin from) SPARTA! The most beautiful Greeks made some ugly coins

Ryro

I've been hunting a Spartan coin for a few years. But for how ugly they are I just hadn't been willing to bid as high as others. For whatever reason this beauty caught my eye and I nabbed it up at today's Leu auction:

5103408_1707150979.l.jpg.739db93225ebc5d596590e9e36ec1174.jpg

LAKONIA. Lakedaimon (Sparta). Circa 35-31 BC. Dupondius (Bronze, 25 mm, 5.68 g, 10 h), Timandros, ephor. [E TIMA]NΔPOC Laureate head of Apollo to right. Rev. Λ-A Artemis standing front, head to left, holding patera in her right hand and spear in her left; at feet to left, hunting dog standing left; in field to right, monogram; all within wreath. BCD Peloponnesos 912-913. Grunauer XIX, Series 2. Rare. Very fine.

From an American collection and previously from an Australian collection, Leu Web Auction 10, 7-8 December 2019, 292.

c42d6e699a100f335a27d46336f3813d2.jpg.bca3e490a21ded584032bceaefa65f97.jpg

As you may know, my coin isn't from Sparta's peak, cause Sparta didn't mint coins at their peak! Sparta deliberately used iron currency to make amassing wealth unwieldy, and remained on an iron currency standard all through Greece's golden age.

So, if you want Spartan currency from their heyday you might be a bit disappointed:

4cfaebssloa71.jpg.f80604bf52b2bf9a673e182dbf0d7d1b.jpg

(Spartan $)

And here is one of my Spartan medals from a few years back:

20180728_181355.jpg.74b5178c7356497e601c09454650bd9c.jpg

So please share your Spartan coins, wins from Leu, thoughts or whatever dominate Athens!

• Like 18
  • Heart Eyes 2

That's pretty cool, @Ryro I have nothing from the area to show, but here's a coin I won from Leu in 2020 depicting something dominating Athens!

CrispinaPhilippopolisAthenaassarion.jpg.2f30e5bd082f1bca675340d044a2e178.jpg
Crispina, AD 178-182.
Roman provincial Æ assarion, 4.48 g, 19 mm, 6 h)
Thrace, Philippopolis, AD 180-182.