Ewomack's Top 5 Coins for 2023...

I only acquired 14 coins in 2023, so a "top 10" feels a little excessive. Maybe a top 5? I've never done one of these lists before, so pardon me while I attempt to muddle through this tradition...

5. Greek Obol - Pisidia
Almost exactly a year ago, I bought my first Greek coin, a tiny, humble Obol. I had read about Obols in various ancient Greek Cynic works, so I thought I should experience at least one of them in person. Diogenes of Sinope's disparaging claim that "philosophers are worth 3 Obols" really hits home upon seeing one in hand. 😄 Yet it displays amazing artistry despite its miniscule size.
1_250_to_190_BCE_Pisidia_AR_Obol_01.png.b7c034292f2d40dad35905232762468c.png1_250_to_190_BCE_Pisidia_AR_Obol_02.png.3b24fc8c1ed8d4327dc2ce07b21addf4.png
Pisidia; Selge; c. 250 - 190 BCE; AR Obol; 0.89 grams; Obv: Facing gorgeoneion; Rev: Helmented head of Athena right,
astragalos to left; SNG Ashmolean 1546 - 50, SNG BN 1948-54

4. Anonymous Æ Follis - Attributed to Romanus IV Diogenes
At this time I'm picking up mostly Byzantine coins, so that includes the Anonymous Follis series. I found this example aesthetically pleasing, though Mary's face on the reverse looks slightly sandblasted. A fascinating series that displays Byzantine history, the ultimate long term victory of the iconodules, and the beginnings of the eventual end for the long running empire. Some of its greatest strengths were also some of its greatest weaknesses.

1068_to_1071_RomanusIVDiogenes_Follis_01.png.3a6ee92099d5019f948aa7200c7aec4b.png1068_to_1071_RomanusIVDiogenes_Follis_02.png.e720f72f084395e742de28d25ab985cf.png
Romanus IV Diogenes AD (1068-1071); Constantinople; Æ Anonymous Follis, Class G, Obv: IC-XC to left and right of bust of Christ, nimbate, facing, right hand raised, scroll in left, all within border of large dots; Rev: MP-ΘV to left and right of Mary, nimbate, ands raised, all inside border of large dots; 26-28 mm. 10.2 gm.; Sear 1867