A thoughtful present

Nerosmyfavorite68

Nice coin! Set it free! What I do is take a fine toothed saw or file to one of the seams near a corner. Once I’ve made a bit of a cut along the seam, I use a screwdriver to pry the two halves apart. This usually cracks them without totally destroying the plastic and keeps sharp or prying tools away from the coin. There are a lot of methods to cracking them… some likely easier than mine but it works.

Edited by Orange Julius
  • Like 3

6 hours ago, Nerosmyfavorite68 said:

This coin was a most thoughtful present. Unfortunately it's entombed, but I have no experience in freeing tombs.  I'd personally grade it VF.

959207953_PhilipII-247-249-BillonTetradrachmAntioch-NGCChXFobverse.jpg.63df24374e952b42cea676da6c94f27a.jpg

1556522945_PhilipII-247-249-BillonTetradrachmAntioch-NGCChXFreverse.jpg.342a3c558d2ad2aabffabcb5bc7cc5dd.jpg

Nero., Your out of focus photos don't give an accurate picture of the coin 😵. I'm guessing the coin is Ch XF by strike, however, the surface most likely would have graded 2/5, that's why the person who sent the coin to NGC didn't go all the way. Having this coin slabbed was a waste of money 😉.

• Like 1
  • Smile 1

While my photos aren't great, the NGC ones aren't phenomenal either.  They also have a Byzantine coin for the reverse of the coin! Theirs is clearer, but makes the coin look ten times worse than it does in person.

Their photo does better show the pock-marking on the face of the portrait.  Peering in through the slab, there's wear to the eagle and pock-marking on the face. 

I think this is only my second or third Philip II. 

However, it was still a very thoughtful gift; one within my interests.  The local coin store only has a small offering of ancients.  They're sometimes slabbed, sometimes not.

280312524_PhilipII247-9BillonTetradrachmAntiochNGC6158113-028_obvNGCancientsofficialpicture.jpg.b6ab83d501329730791aec922c7f0a5a.jpg

• Like 5