Septimius Severus Denarius

The_Collector

Hi everyone,

I am a novice collector who just got started and I acquired this particular denarius through an assorted lot of coins. I have researched the coin and just feel like something is off on it. I wanted to know your opinions on the coin. Is it a fake? A casting? or maybe it was struck with really bad dies? I tried to take the best photos I could. There are a few raised lies running across the obverse of the coin and on the reverse there is this bulge of metal. Overall a lot of the details are kind of smudgy. Thank you!

The coin weights 3.372 grams.

Obverse: SEVERVS PIVS AVG

Reverse: PM TR P XVIII COS III PP

IMG-0098.jpg

IMG-0094.jpg

IMG-0095.jpg

IMG-0096.jpg

IMG-0097.jpg

IMG_0100.JPG

IMG_0099.JPG

• Like 4

In my inexpert opinion, your coins is a "limes" issue - ancient, but not official.  The limes was the Roman frontier, populated by Roman soldiers, traders, and local "barbarians."  These coins are found in abundance in such areas and there is a lot of debate about whether or not, or to what extent, they were "official" or outright forgeries.  Heck if I know.  But they are very collectible and sometimes the workmanship is quite good - as yours is.  So congratulations.  

Coin Talk had several threads on limes coins, as this one:  https://www.cointalk.com/threads/limes-denarius.243995/   In that thread John Anthony linked this helpful article:  https://www.academia.edu/3632930/Plated_and_other_fake_Roman_coins

Here are a couple of limes Septimius Severus denarii I have: 

1891134285_SeptimiusSeverus-DenMinervalimesRIC68July2017(0).jpg.8e42b9eec3c723479ce66238f072119a.jpg

1726045842_SeptSeverus-LimesDenlotSep2019(0).jpg.c584037233118650e3d865ea98be3704.jpg

• Like 6

1 hour ago, Marsyas Mike said:

In my inexpert opinion, your coins is a "limes" issue - ancient, but not official.