30.2 Tetradrachm

merveil

Hi! I recently bought my first Parthian coin. And I started with a rather rare beast - a 30.2 tetradrachm pictured below:

image.png.8efce9163bb2a292afce496ac52b7764.png

Since I'm new to this time period, I have a lot of questions on my mind - here are some of them:

1. I bought the coin from a legit auction house but they don't handle many Parthian pieces. If you see any red flags regarding its authenticity, I'd love to hear about them!

2. I read somewhere that monograms on tets from that period may have referred to the provincial governor at the time. Does the "KR" monogram on this coin have known meaning or is it one of many Parthian mysteries?

3. While researching the coin, I saw 2 other type 30 tetradrachms with a similar kind of graffiti in the field. I wonder of it could be, perhaps, some accounting system from the period? Or maybe the person who found a hoard of them was bored and started doodling 🙂

4. Finally, which attribution do you find most convincing? Do you think it's an unknown king or an alternative portrait for one of the monarchs known by name?

I'm looking forward to your answers and any comments you want to make. Thank you in advance for taking the time!

• Like 17
  • Heart Eyes 1

A lot of Parthian kings are unknown even if they are named, and the attributions could be any of several. The same names come up a lot, so any disagreement messes with the regnal numbers all the way through. You have a confusing situation where the same coin can be attributed to Pacorus I, Pacorus II, Vologases II or Vologases III. Some people just go with the latest research. But to be safe, the name becomes secondary and the coin is Sellwood 30.2.

• Like 2