When auction bidding goes wrong... all my own fault... but it works out fine in the end

maridvnvm

I was watching an auction, waiting for a particular coin lot to come up, a coin I was hoping was a sleeper and intending to bid many times the estimate if required to. It was a coin of Probus with a scarcer reverse legend variation that I had been chasing after for 20 years. I was all set up and watching the previous lots come up with prices staying low. As the coins go by I think that, whilst I don't need upgrades in my collection, the coins are going so cheaply that I could buy a few and sell them on for a profit if needed and the postage would be covered by my other lot. I bid a low ball bid on two coins and I win. I am feeling things are going my way. Two coins bought cheaply, my lot coming up, everything else is going at or below estimate.... what could go wrong.... It turns out that I wasn't the only one who spotted the scarce variant and the bidding was vigorous, starting low but soon was about 50% above what I thought would be my top end. I pulled out and was now left without the coin I had intended to buy and with two coins that I had't intended to buy. Ho hum. Time to suck it up, pay for them to be shipped as cheaply as possible and get on with chasing after other coins.

I honestly fogot about them and a package turned up 2 days before Christmas which I was puzzled by. I couldn't think what it could contain. Lo and behold, it was these two coins....

In the mean time about a week after the auction I was looking at the stock of French dealer and he had another example of the same scarce variation that I had been bidding on up for sale. It was at less than my top bid had been at the auction....

Here are my two "accidental" Probus purchases..... each is an upgrade to the existing coins in my collection in some way or other....

Obv:– IMP C M AVR PROBVS AVG, Radiate cuirassed bust right
Rev:– LAETITIA AVGVSTI, Laetitia standing left holding wreath and staff