My NYINC acquisitions. Part 2: M. Dublin Penny of Edward I

SteveJBrinkman

Although my main collecting focus is Roman Republican silver,  over the last couple of years I have revived my interest in English hammered coins, and have started a small assembly.  Some 35 years ago, I visited Ireland and became aware of these triangle pennies,  the obverse triangle design is unique to the Irish pennies of the time of king John, 1199-1216, Henry III, 1216-1272 and Edward I, 1272-1307.  The triangle is inverted only on the coinage of Edward I.  These pennies are generally common but I have yet to find the right one, until now. 

I'm just learning about the coinage of Ireland, so if I get something wrong, let me know.

image.png.5f5d57da23fb7aa392c3ec78e9d09bfa.png

Edward I silver long cross penny;

19mm; 1.44 g.

Dublin Mint, struck c. 1280-1283

Obv: Head of King Edward I facing enclosed in inverted triangle. EDW R' - ANGL'D - NShYB

Rev: Long cross with 3 pellets in each quadrant. CIVI - TAS - DUBL - INIE

S. 6246, Class 1b ? 

Purchased from Sovereign Rarities, 13-JAN-23

I'm having some trouble attributing this piece.  The portrait is as the 2nd issue (class 1b), the most common issue, in that there are 3 pellets at the neck (right lower pellet obscured by striking weakness); however, The 2nd issue is characterized with pellets as stops on the obverse legends as .EDW.R, ANGL.D, and NS.hYB, but no stops are found on this coin.  Maybe just an aberrant die? Any advice or references to help would be appreciated.

• Like 11
  • Heart Eyes 1

27 minutes ago, John Conduitt said:

Nice coin. The portait's strong.

I think only the pellet before .EDWR is required, which this coin seems to have (level with the bar of the E), although not easy to make out. It also has the Roman N on the reverse.