Abbasid Dinars

Cordoba

won two dinars from a recent stephen album auction. pretty happy with them, my first gold purchase. currently want an umayyad dinar but found those to be more pricey

left dinar: al-Mutawakkil, 847-861, AV dinar (3.98g), Misr, AH238, A-229.2, Bernardi-157De

right dinar: ABBASID OF YEMEN: al-Mu'tadid, 892-902, AV dinar al-mutawwak (2.95g), San'a, AH283, A-1056, Bernardi-211El

20220602_164053.thumb.jpg.5d6f9889043c6d584a8db65dc4163849.jpg20220602_163912.thumb.jpg.e877dcb8002d170cffb6651014842515.jpg

• Like 10
  • Smile 1

56 minutes ago, Bailathacl said:

Beautiful pieces.  Such an underappreciated collecting area (understandably so).

yea, agreed. i'm not really good at reading arabic, so i dont understand that much. i do wish there were more iconography on islamic coins. i know early umayyad, ayyubid, artuqid, and seljuk coins have icons on them but it's not that common. this coin i got a while back is an umayyad pre reform coin, imitating the byzantine nummus

Time of 'Abd al-Malik ibn Marwan AD 685-705. AH 65-86. Hims Fals Æ  21 mm., 3...

Time of 'Abd al-Malik ibn Marwan AD 685-705. AH 65-86. Hims, Fals Æ 21 mm., 3,66 g.

Edited by Cordoba
  • Like 8

@Cordoba, those are two magnificent dinars. 

And for illiteracy in Arabic, I'll bet I have you beat!  I mainly collect Islamic coins for the indispensible context they provide to European medieval ones.  But even as their more immediate history is richly compelling in its own right, the more I find out about it, so are the esthetic qualities of the legends, independently of my inability to read them.  ...Even in this medium, I find it hard to use the phrase, 'Arabic lettering;' I always have to stop myself from saying, 'Arabic calligraphy.'

Edited by JeandAcre
  • Like 3

7 hours ago, JeandAcre said:

@Cordoba, those are two magnificent dinars.