Opportunities for amateur research?

CaptainCook123

Hello everyone, this is my first post and I can definitely say I'm glad to be here!

I'm fairly new to collecting but I'm fascinated by cataloguing my small (so far!) collection. I would love to get more involved in the area but it seems as though catalogues or at least articles, e.g die studies, exist for all the types I am interested in. Is there any scope for an enthusiastic amateur to get involved in something like this? My primary interests are Greek and early/mid Roman imperial silver. 

If anyone could point me in the direction of any useful articles or guides I would also be very grateful. 

• Like 6

Hello and welcome...

My opinion. You learn first and foremost over time and through your own mistakes, which you also make from time to time. That can't be ruled out at all.

I would rather recommend that you read the threads here. And if you have any unanswered questions - just sweep away, every beginner will be gladly helped here. I think you'll get much more information from the many experts here than from any illustrations.

• Like 2

There are tremendous opportunities to do amateur research on Greek coins.

If you have a Roman Imperial coin with the picture of some emperor on the obverse it is obvious when it was struck.  That isn’t the case with Greek.

A fun exercise is to go through the catalog you have just compiled for your own collection and write a paragraph for each coin like this:

The date range <year> to <year> BC corresponds to the period between <battle> and <event> when the city was ruled by the <empire>.  The obverse was identified as <god> because <attribute or temple>.  The reverse was identified as <god> because <attribute or temple>.

Often this simple exercise causes you to notice that something as basic as the years are different in different books.  Finding such disagreements tells you a coin deserves more study.