Height of relief of bust

expat

Being an absolute beginner

everything is fascinating and I want as much info as I can get. Received this yesterday (and posted here). I am amazed at the depth the obverse die was sunk. The relief on this coin is, to me, fascinating. I know it wasn't an exact science back then, but even so

20220808_145945__2_-removebg-preview.png

20220808_150122__2_-removebg-preview.png

20220809_142802 (2).jpg

• Like 14

That's a decent relief! At one point I tried to take measurements of this as it's not quite the same as a coin's thickness in the sense a thick coin doesn't always have a high relief. Though I soon fell down the rabbit hole of how you determine how high something is when there's no intrinsic "ground" to measure from. It seems like a similar problem that you have with measuring mountains in terms of elevation vs prominence: the elevation is measured from sea level but that doesn't necessarily reflect how prominent it is relative to other features around it (hence K2 being the 2nd highest mountain but 22nd in prominence).

But back to coins, as we all know flans are rarely perfectly flan, particularly Greek tetradrachms, which can often be slanted. The edge of a coin can vary from 4mm in one area to 2mm in another. So when laid flat, the distance from the highest point to the lowest point in the fields will be wrong if the plane of the obverse face is not parallel to the surface its sitting on. I'm sure someone could figure out a "proper" way to measure the relief of a coin independent of thickness, if anyone has any ideas let me know! Maybe something like the difference between the maximum height of a coin when laying flat on a surface and the maximum thickness of the edge as measured from a point on each side of the coin that is in the fields (i.e. don't measure from where a portrait might be halfway off the flan and thus make that part of the edge seem overly thick).

• Like 5

1 hour ago, Kaleun96 said: