A personal chronology of the eras in my collecting life

seth77

I have been collecting coins and banknotes since the 1990s but only in the 2000s with the rise of ebay and online merchants did I realize that 'ancient' coins are also available to collect and are often cheaper than modern coins. I'm writing this post now for 2 reasons:

1. I have found I have less and less time to actually dedicate to the study of numismatics and to the search for stuff to peak my interest, and that comes from more work plus a fuller personal life with the kids growing up, for which I am very grateful. At this point comes also the dwindling funds that I find myself willing to spend on coins.

2. During the many relocations during the pandemic and after, during the hassle with moving around, furniture, appliances, fixing the current house et al, I have lost a number of coins that I'll probably never find again. By now I have given up all hope that they'd turn up in some moving box that we or the moving guys have been carrying around to different addresses between 2020 and 2021. I don't know how I managed to lose them, but I did.

So, to the main course, these are the periods that I found compelling in my collecting life, ordered in my personal chronology, each represented by at least one coin:

1. The 2000s -- I was very into the Constantinian age, mostly went after coins of Constantine I -- the source(s): ebay, Noble Roman Coins and Jerome Holderman from FORVM. It was the time that I discovered that ancient coins can be bought online and that they are mostly cheaper than the modern coins I had been interested in until then. Paying for my purchases was difficult back then, I used Western Union wire transfers and even sent dollar bills through airmail to the US. Eventually I opened a dollar account tied to Visa USD and used it for purchases after ebay and other venues started accepting credit card payments from overseas.

And the coin that best symbolizes this period is: