My first ancient - still my favorite!

CPK

You might say I went in off the deep end when I bought my first ancient: even though I've since bought at least 150 other ancients, this one - my first - remains my most expensive.

I wanted a Roman coin with some biblical history behind it; preferably, from the lifetime of Jesus. As a total newbie to ancients, I was looking mostly at NGC-slabbed coins on eBay. Too wary and inexperienced to buy un-slabbed coins from eBay, but too poor to pay the slabbed prices, I looked for other options and discovered VCoins. There I found a nice Tiberius denarius in Dr. Martina Dieterle's store, for a reasonable price.

It's a beautiful coin, there are better, but I think I got about as good as I can afford...a nice portrait with good detail (too bad the lettering is smeared), crisp reverse detail as well, good metal, lovely old cabinet toning, with a provenance from the AK collection, and published to boot! It will always have a top place in my collection.

(And here is the picture, just done this evening which inspired this thread!)

tiberius_denarius.jpg.8877f9cc3039f2554b9ee44d44f6943e.jpg

And the scanned pages from Money Trend magazine (January 2008 issue), which Dr. Dieterle so kindly sent at my request. Unfortunately, I can't read German, so I have no idea what the article is about, but my coin is illustration #2:

Scan2022-10-05_212722.jpg.360fc07574937dce7fabec9a5016115d.jpg

• Like 18
  • Clap 1
  • Heart Eyes 1

38 minutes ago, CPK said:

Unfortunately, I can't read German, so I have no idea what the article is about